Guide

The best AI book generators in 2026

An AI book generator takes a premise and gives you back a book. Most tools sold under that name write a chapter or a passage at a time and leave the rest to you. Six are worth knowing, and they are built for different writers. Here is how they rank on writing the whole book and finishing it.

We make ScribistIQ, so weigh our ranking with that in mind. Everything we say about the other five tools is taken from their own websites, linked beside each fact and dated. Their prices and features change; check their sites before you decide.

At a glance

Each cell about another tool is taken from that tool’s own site and linked beside it. “Not stated” means we could not find it there, not that it does not exist.

Writes the whole bookPlan before writingAudiobookPrinted copiesExportsPaid plans fromFree option
ScribistIQYes. Up to 30 chapters in one run (Pro plan).Yes. A chapter plan you can edit before writing.Yes. Six voices, per chapter or the whole book.Yes. Paperback or hardcover, shipped in the US and Canada.PDF, EPUB and DOCX, no watermark.$29 a monthYour book's opening chapter, no card.
SquiblerYes. A 'Generate Full-Length Book' button. sourceYes. sourceNo. sourceYes, on the Plus plan. sourcePDF and DOCX on paid plans; ePub on its feature pages. source$15.83 a month billed annually, $29.99 monthly. sourceFree plan, 1,000 AI credits a month. source
Inkfluence AIYes. Up to 40 chapters a run. sourceYes. An outline before drafting. sourceYes. 15 or 30 chapters a month on paid plans. sourceNot statedPDF on the free plan; PDF, EPUB and DOCX on paid plans. source$9.99 a month. sourceFree plan, 5 chapters plus 5 a month. source
SudowriteNo. One chapter per Draft run. sourceYes. sourceNot statedNot stated.docx. source$10 a month billed annually, $19 monthly. sourceFree trial, no card. source
NovelcrafterNo. Generated beat by beat. sourceA planning grid; no one-click outline. sourceNot statedNo. source.docx or Markdown. source$8 a month, plus your own AI provider's charges. source21-day free trial. source
NovelAINo. Continues your text up to 600 characters at a time. sourceNot statedText-to-speech; no audiobook export stated. sourceNot stated.txt and .story files. source$10 a month. sourceOne-time trial: 50 text generations. source

How we ranked them

A tool built to help you write your own prose can be excellent and still rank lower here: it is solving a different problem. Where that is the better fit for you, the entry says so.

  1. 01

    Does it write the whole book?

    A book generator should take a premise and return a complete manuscript, not a chapter or a paragraph at a time.

  2. 02

    Can you shape it before it writes?

    An outline you can see and change first is the difference between steering a book and rerolling it.

  3. 03

    Does it stay consistent?

    Names, ages, places and plot facts have to hold from chapter one to the last. We looked for a story bible that is carried into every chapter.

  4. 04

    Does it finish the job?

    A cover, an audiobook, ebook files and a printed copy, without stitching together three other tools.

  5. 05

    Can you see the price first?

    You should know what a book will cost before you start it, not after.

01

ScribistIQ

Best for a finished book from a single premise

ScribistIQ is a book generator. You give it a premise, edit the chapter plan if you want to, and it writes every chapter against a story bible rebuilt for each one: your characters and world, summaries of the last ten chapters, and the closing passage of the chapter before. Then it does the rest of the job in the same place: AI covers with typography, six-voice narration, PDF, EPUB and DOCX files with no watermark, and printed paperbacks or hardcovers. It is the only tool on this list whose own site covers all of that, from a premise to a printed copy.

What it does well

  • A whole book in one run: up to 30 chapters, roughly 75,000 to 105,000 words, on the Pro plan.
  • You see and edit the chapter plan before a word of prose is written.
  • Covers, six-voice audiobook narration, EPUB, PDF and DOCX, and printed copies without a second tool.
  • Every generation shows its credit price before it runs, and a free account writes the opening chapter of your own book first.

Good to know

  • It writes in English only.
  • It is not a tool for explicit fiction: intimate scenes are written without explicit detail.
  • Paid plans start at $29 a month, more than the entry plans of some tools below. The free opening chapter is there so you can judge the writing first.

02

Squibler

Best if you also write screenplays

Squibler’s site · ScribistIQ vs SquiblerFacts read on September 2, 2026.

Squibler is the closest tool to ScribistIQ on this list. Its headline is 'Turn Your Idea into a Story': you chat with the AI, and a Generate Full-Length Book button produces a complete novel. It also makes cover images and sells printed copies, and it writes screenplays as well as books.

What it does well

  • Generates a complete book from an idea, with outlines and story elements for consistency.
  • Screenplay drafting is built in.
  • A free plan with no time limit, and an unlimited-credits tier for high volume.

Good to know

  • Its own site says it 'doesn't directly produce audiobooks'.
  • Its docs say there is 'no simple 1:1 relationship between credits and words', so the cost of a book is hard to know in advance.

03

Inkfluence AI

Best for low-cost ebooks, guides and lead magnets

Inkfluence AI’s siteFacts read on September 23, 2026.

Inkfluence AI describes itself as a way to 'create, export, and sell guides, ebooks & PDFs', and labels its most popular plan 'for lead magnets & sellable guides'. Its novel writer builds an outline and then drafts up to 40 chapters in a run, with a story bible carried into every chapter. Audiobooks, translations and one-click listing on Etsy and Gumroad are on the paid plans.

What it does well

  • The lowest paid entry price on this list, at $9.99 a month.
  • Drafts up to 40 chapters in a run, which it puts at about 50,000 to 65,000 words.
  • Audiobook narration, translation into 59 languages, and publishing to Etsy and Gumroad on paid plans.

Good to know

  • Its free plan exports PDF only; EPUB and DOCX need a paid plan.
  • Printed copies are not stated on its site.
  • Its plans and templates are built first around guides and ebooks to sell, rather than long fiction.

04

Sudowrite

Best for writing the prose yourself, with AI beside you

Sudowrite’s site · ScribistIQ vs SudowriteFacts read on September 2, 2026.

Sudowrite calls itself 'the non-judgemental AI writing partner you always wanted'. It is an assistant rather than a generator: a Story Bible, an outline tool, and a Draft feature that writes one chapter at a time from the scenes you set up. Its own FAQ says it is 'not intended to write for you'.

What it does well

  • Strong tools for writers who want to draft and revise their own prose.
  • Says it 'speaks 30+ languages'.
  • A choice of models, including an unfiltered one, Muse, for dark or explicit fiction.

Good to know

  • It does not write a whole book from a premise; Draft produces one chapter per run.
  • Exports are .docx; EPUB, PDF, audiobooks and print are not stated on its site.
  • Credit cost depends on the model you pick, so the price of a book varies.

05

Novelcrafter

Best if you want to bring your own AI model

Novelcrafter’s site · ScribistIQ vs NovelcrafterFacts read on September 2, 2026.

Novelcrafter's promise is 'Write, without restriction'. It is a novel-writing workspace with a Codex for your lore and a planning grid, and its AI runs on whichever model you connect with your own API key. Prose is generated beat by beat, with you directing each step.

What it does well

  • Connect OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, Mistral, OpenRouter or a local model, and pay that provider directly.
  • A serious Codex and planning grid for series and world-building.
  • The workspace itself is inexpensive, from $8 a month for the first tier with AI.

Good to know

  • There is no built-in AI: 'Novelcrafter doesn't have an in-built credits system', so you manage a provider bill as well.
  • No AI cover generation, and 'you cannot format your novel within Novelcrafter for publication'.

06

NovelAI

Best for open-ended, interactive storytelling

NovelAI’s site · ScribistIQ vs NovelAIFacts read on September 2, 2026.

NovelAI's headline is 'Create High Quality AI Anime Art & Stories'. It is a storytelling tool: you write, press send, and the AI continues the story, with a Lorebook to keep facts straight and unlimited text generation on paid tiers.

What it does well

  • Unlimited text generation on a flat monthly subscription.
  • Anime-style image generation alongside the text.
  • A Lorebook that feeds facts into the story as they come up.

Good to know

  • Each output is capped at 600 characters, so a book is built up a passage at a time.
  • It exports .txt and its own .story files; DOCX, EPUB and PDF are not stated on its site.

Common questions

What is the best AI book generator?

For a complete book written from a premise, with the cover, audiobook, ebook files and printed copies in the same place, we rank ScribistIQ first. If you would rather write the prose yourself with AI help, Sudowrite fits better. If you want to connect your own AI model, Novelcrafter. For the lowest monthly price on ebooks and guides, Inkfluence AI.

Can AI write a whole novel?

Yes. ScribistIQ, Squibler and Inkfluence AI all generate a complete manuscript from a premise. ScribistIQ's longest single run is 30 chapters, roughly 75,000 to 105,000 words, on the Pro plan; Inkfluence AI says up to 40 chapters, about 50,000 to 65,000 words. Any AI draft reads better after an editing pass.

Is there a free AI book generator?

Several have free tiers, but none writes a whole book for free. Squibler's free plan gives 1,000 AI credits a month. Inkfluence AI's gives 5 chapters plus 5 a month, with PDF export only. ScribistIQ's free account writes the opening chapter of your own book with no card, so you can judge the writing before you pay.

Why not just use ChatGPT or Claude?

You can, a chapter at a time. A chat assistant has no book structure: you keep the outline, carry every character and fact from one chapter to the next yourself, and design, narrate and format the book somewhere else. A book generator does that bookkeeping for you.

Can I publish a book made with an AI book generator?

Yes. No major store bans it. Amazon, Apple and Barnes & Noble ask you to declare it, and Amazon counts a book as AI-generated even after heavy editing. Our publishing guide covers each store's rules.

Publishing a book you made with AI? Read what each store requires.

Judge the writing before you pay.

A free ScribistIQ account writes the opening chapter of your own book, with no card. If it reads like the book you had in mind, pick a plan and generate the rest.

Go deeper: ScribistIQ vs Sudowrite · ScribistIQ vs Novelcrafter · ScribistIQ vs NovelAI · ScribistIQ vs Squibler · Publishing your book