Compare
ScribistIQ vs NovelAI
NovelAI's homepage headline is 'Create High Quality AI Anime Art & Stories'. Its FAQ describes 'an AI driven anime image generator and storytelling tool': you write, press send, and the AI continues the story, with a Lorebook to keep facts straight and unlimited text generation on paid tiers. ScribistIQ is a book generator: outline, chapters, continuity bible, cover, narration and print-ready files from one premise.
NovelAI facts are taken from NovelAI’s own pricing and product pages as of September 2, 2026. Their prices and features can change; check their site before you decide.
| ScribistIQ | NovelAI | |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | A book generator: give it a premise and it writes the whole book, then gives you an editor, covers, narration, exports and print. | 'Create High Quality AI Anime Art & Stories': 'an AI driven anime image generator and storytelling tool for anyone that desires to create and build their own stories'. source |
| Writes a complete book from a premise | Yes. Fast writes a short book in one pass; Pro and Ultra Max write the full book chapter by chapter after you approve the outline. | No. It is a continuation editor: 'Hitting enter or pressing the send button again helps the AI continue your story without the need for any additional inputs from you.' source |
| Longest single generation | Ultra Max Novel: 30 chapters in one run, roughly 75,000 to 105,000 words. | 'The Output Length setting controls the maximum amount of text characters that the AI can generate per output, with a minimum of 4 and a maximum of 600 characters depending on your Subscription Tier.' source |
| Outline you can edit first | Yes. Pro and Ultra Max generate a chapter plan you can edit before any prose is written. | Not stated on their site. |
| Continuity across chapters | Yes. A rolling story bible: your canon plus summaries of the last ten chapters and the previous chapter's closing passage, rebuilt for every chapter. | The Lorebook, 'a repository for supplemental information that's added to the AI's context as each entry comes up in your story', plus a Memory box. source |
| Cover art | Yes. Three image models, one to four variants per run at 50,000 credits an image, back covers, free uploads and a free text designer. | Anime-style image generation is a core feature, paid in Anlas credits on subscription tiers; it is not described as book-cover generation. source |
| Audiobook narration | Yes. Six voices, per chapter or whole book, 5 credits per character, WAV download per chapter. | Text to Speech is included: unlimited on paid tiers, 100 generations on the free tier; voice files can be downloaded with Streamed TTS. A whole-book audiobook export is not stated. source |
| Exports | PDF, EPUB and DOCX, rendered server-side, no watermark, no byline. | .story and .scenario files (JSON), the story text as .txt, as an image, to the clipboard, or all stories as a .zip. DOCX, EPUB and PDF are not stated. source |
| Printed copies | Yes. 6×9 paperback or hardcover through print-on-demand, shipped in the US and Canada, live quote before you pay. | Not stated on their site. |
| Import an existing manuscript | .docx, .txt, .md and .markdown up to 4 MB; chapter breaks detected automatically. | Not stated on their site. |
| Bring your own API key | No. Generation runs on our models and is included in the credit price. | Not stated on their site. |
| Adult content | Adult fiction is allowed. In practice the model handles intimate scenes without explicit detail, so it is not a tool for erotica. Anything sexual involving minors is refused, and a book becomes a public page only after a sexual-content check. | No content policy is stated in their FAQ or Terms beyond an 18+ requirement; the homepage describes the tools as bringing your imagination to life 'without limits'. source |
| How you pay | Monthly credit allowance; every generation has a fixed price shown before it runs. Fast book 50,000 credits, Pro book 300,000, Ultra Max 50,000 + 50,000 per chapter. | Flat subscription that renews 'exactly 30 days after payment', with unlimited text and text-to-speech generation on paid tiers; images draw Anlas credits. No annual option shown. source |
| Entry price | $29 a month (Lite, 300,000 credits) | Tablet $10 a month; Scroll $15 with a larger context; Opus $25 with the largest context ('up to 28,672 tokens') and 10,000 Anlas. source |
| Free option | Free account writes the opening chapter of your book (about 500 to 700 words). No card required. | One-time trial on the free Paper tier: 50 text generations, 100 text-to-speech generations and 30 image generations; 'Free trial actions are only provided once, with no refreshes.' source |
Where NovelAI is the better fit
- You want an unlimited-generation storyteller for exploratory or interactive writing at a flat monthly price.
- You want anime-style art generation alongside your text.
- Their Terms are silent on adult content and the tagline is 'without limits'; if content freedom is your main concern, read both policies before choosing.
Where ScribistIQ is the better fit
- You want a complete, structured book, outline, chapters and a continuity bible, generated from a premise rather than continued 600 characters at a time.
- You want book-shaped outputs: covers with typography, EPUB, PDF and DOCX, printed copies, and per-chapter narration you can download as a file.
- You want an editorial audit that reads the finished manuscript and quotes the passages it flags.
Switching from NovelAI
ScribistIQ does not import NovelAI's .story or .scenario files. Export the story text as .txt from NovelAI and import it (or paste it into a .md or .docx file); chapter breaks are detected automatically, and Lorebook entries can be pasted into the characters-and-world field to build the story bible.
.docx, .txt, .md and .markdown up to 4 MB; chapter breaks detected automatically. Once imported, a book can be edited in the Write Studio, extended with Continue Book, given a cover, narrated, exported or printed like any book written here.
Common questions
Is ScribistIQ like NovelAI?
Not really. NovelAI is an open-ended AI storyteller and art generator on a flat subscription, continuing your text up to 600 characters per output. ScribistIQ is a generator for finished books: you approve an outline, it writes every chapter against a continuity bible, and the result exports to EPUB, PDF and DOCX, gets a cover and narration, and can be printed. If you write interactively for the experience, NovelAI fits; if you want a book at the end, ScribistIQ does.
Can I bring a NovelAI story into ScribistIQ?
Yes, as text. NovelAI can export your story text as .txt; import it here (up to 4 MB). Chapter breaks are detected, and you can extend the book with Continue Book or edit it in the Write Studio.
Does ScribistIQ generate images?
Book covers only: three image models, one to four variants per run at 50,000 credits an image, plus a free cover designer for typography. It does not generate illustrations or anime art.
Which is better for producing a novel to publish?
ScribistIQ is built for that outcome: outline review, chapter-by-chapter generation with continuity, exports with no watermark, and print. NovelAI's pages describe story continuation, a Lorebook and unlimited text on paid tiers, but no outline-to-book pipeline or publishing formats are stated there.
Read a chapter of your own book before you pay.
Free account writes the opening chapter of your book (about 500 to 700 words). No card required. Plans start at $29 a month, in US dollars, and every paid plan includes every tool.
Other comparisons: ScribistIQ vs Sudowrite · ScribistIQ vs Novelcrafter · ScribistIQ vs Squibler
