Compare

ScribistIQ vs Novelcrafter

Novelcrafter's promise is 'Write, without restriction': a workspace with a Codex for your lore, planning grids, and prose generated from scene beats by whatever AI model you connect with your own API key. ScribistIQ takes the opposite bet: the model, the continuity system and the whole-book generation are built in and priced per book, and the workspace comes after the draft exists.

Novelcrafter facts are taken from Novelcrafter’s own pricing and product pages as of September 2, 2026. Their prices and features can change; check their site before you decide.

ScribistIQNovelcrafter
What it isA book generator: give it a premise and it writes the whole book, then gives you an editor, covers, narration, exports and print.'Write, without restriction': a novel-writing workspace with a Codex and planning tools, where you 'connect to an AI platform of your choice'. source
Writes a complete book from a premiseYes. Fast writes a short book in one pass; Pro and Ultra Max write the full book chapter by chapter after you approve the outline.No such feature is stated. Prose is generated beat by beat: 'Stay in the director's seat by telling the AI what should happen next.' source
Longest single generationUltra Max Novel: 30 chapters in one run, roughly 75,000 to 105,000 words.Per scene beat: 'The system prompt has a default of 400 words', adjustable per beat; no hard cap stated. source
Outline you can edit firstYes. Pro and Ultra Max generate a chapter plan you can edit before any prose is written.Planning tools rather than a one-click outline: 'Drag and drop your acts, chapters and scenes into the right order' in the Grid, an Outline view, and AI scene-beat generation on Hobbyist and above. source
Continuity across chaptersYes. A rolling story bible: your canon plus summaries of the last ten chapters and the previous chapter's closing passage, rebuilt for every chapter.The Codex: 'one intelligent wiki with automatic tracking, progressions, and AI-powered context' for characters, locations and lore, shareable across a series. source
Cover artYes. Three image models, one to four variants per run at 50,000 credits an image, back covers, free uploads and a free text designer.No AI cover generation; you upload a cover, and 'by default, stock images are used to fill in empty novels'. source
Audiobook narrationYes. Six voices, per chapter or whole book, 5 credits per character, WAV download per chapter.Not stated on their site.
ExportsPDF, EPUB and DOCX, rendered server-side, no watermark, no byline.Word (.docx) or Markdown, the whole novel with optional Codex, chats and snippets. EPUB and PDF are not stated. source
Printed copiesYes. 6×9 paperback or hardcover through print-on-demand, shipped in the US and Canada, live quote before you pay.No. 'As of February 2025, you cannot format your novel within Novelcrafter for publication'; they point to other tools. source
Import an existing manuscript.docx, .txt, .md and .markdown up to 4 MB; chapter breaks detected automatically.Word (.docx) or Markdown; the features page also lists HTML. source
Bring your own API keyNo. Generation runs on our models and is included in the credit price.Yes, and it is the only way to use AI: 'Novelcrafter doesn't have an in-built credits system'. On Hobbyist and above you connect OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, Mistral, OpenRouter or local models and pay that provider for usage. source
Adult contentAdult fiction is allowed. In practice the model handles intimate scenes without explicit detail, so it is not a tool for erotica. Anything sexual involving minors is refused, and a book becomes a public page only after a sexual-content check.Allowed: 'Novelcrafter supports NSFW workflows', and because you bring your own key 'you can pick models suited for explicit content'. What gets written depends on the model and provider. source
How you payMonthly credit allowance; every generation has a fixed price shown before it runs. Fast book 50,000 credits, Pro book 300,000, Ultra Max 50,000 + 50,000 per chapter.A subscription for the workspace ($4 to $20 a month) with AI usage billed separately by your own provider. Annual billing takes 'two months off'. No free plan. source
Entry price$29 a month (Lite, 300,000 credits)Scribe $4 a month (no AI); Hobbyist $8 a month is the first tier with AI, via your own key; Artisan $14; Specialist $20. source
Free optionFree account writes the opening chapter of your book (about 500 to 700 words). No card required.21-day free trial with all features, no payment details required; no free plan afterwards. source

Where Novelcrafter is the better fit

  • You want to choose and pay for your own model, including local ones, and keep the workspace itself at a few dollars a month.
  • You write beat by beat and want a serious planning grid and a Codex that tracks your lore as you write.
  • You need explicit content that a hosted service might not write; Novelcrafter leaves that to the model you connect.

Where ScribistIQ is the better fit

  • You want the book generated from a premise and an outline you approve, with continuity handled for you, rather than prompted into existence beat by beat.
  • You want AI covers, narration, EPUB, PDF and DOCX, and printed copies without connecting API keys or other tools.
  • You want one predictable price with the AI usage inside it, and the credit cost of every action shown before it runs.

Switching from Novelcrafter

Export your novel from Novelcrafter as .docx or Markdown and import it into ScribistIQ. Codex entries can be pasted into the characters-and-world field, where they are parsed into story bible entries.

.docx, .txt, .md and .markdown up to 4 MB; chapter breaks detected automatically. Once imported, a book can be edited in the Write Studio, extended with Continue Book, given a cover, narrated, exported or printed like any book written here.

Common questions

Is ScribistIQ a Novelcrafter alternative?

For a different way of working. Novelcrafter is a workspace where you write with the AI model you connect; ScribistIQ generates the whole book from your premise and outline with its own models, then gives you the editor. If you like managing models and writing beat by beat, Novelcrafter fits. If you want a complete draft and the publishing tools, ScribistIQ does.

Do I need my own API key for ScribistIQ?

No. Generation runs on our models and is included in the credit price of each book, cover or narration. There is nothing to connect and no separate provider bill.

Can I import my Novelcrafter book?

Yes. Export it as .docx or Markdown and import it here (up to 4 MB); chapter breaks are detected automatically. Paste your Codex into the characters-and-world field to seed the story bible.

Which costs less?

Novelcrafter's Hobbyist plan is $8 a month plus whatever your provider charges per token, which depends on the model and how much you generate. ScribistIQ's Lite plan is $29 a month with 300,000 credits included, enough for one Pro book, and every generation shows its price first. If you already hold API keys and like managing them, Novelcrafter is cheaper on paper; if you want the AI cost inside the subscription, compare against the ScribistIQ plan that matches your volume.

Read a chapter of your own book before you pay.

Free account writes the opening chapter of your book (about 500 to 700 words). No card required. Plans start at $29 a month, in US dollars, and every paid plan includes every tool.

Other comparisons: ScribistIQ vs Sudowrite · ScribistIQ vs NovelAI · ScribistIQ vs Squibler