Compare
ScribistIQ vs Sudowrite
Sudowrite calls itself 'the non-judgemental AI writing partner you always wanted': you write, and it brainstorms, describes, expands and drafts chapters beside you. Its own FAQ says it is 'not intended to write for you'. ScribistIQ is a generator: you give it a premise, approve the chapter plan, and it writes the complete book, then hands you an editor, covers, narration, exports and print. Same readers, different jobs.
Sudowrite facts are taken from Sudowrite’s own pricing and product pages as of September 2, 2026. Their prices and features can change; check their site before you decide.
| ScribistIQ | Sudowrite | |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | A book generator: give it a premise and it writes the whole book, then gives you an editor, covers, narration, exports and print. | In its own words 'the non-judgemental AI writing partner you always wanted': an AI writing assistant with Story Bible, Canvas and prose tools. source |
| Writes a complete book from a premise | Yes. Fast writes a short book in one pass; Pro and Ultra Max write the full book chapter by chapter after you approve the outline. | No. Draft generates 'an entire chapter of 3,000-5,000+ words at a time, based on the Scenes you've established', and the FAQ says Sudowrite 'is not intended to write for you'. source |
| Longest single generation | Ultra Max Novel: 30 chapters in one run, roughly 75,000 to 105,000 words. | One chapter per Draft run, '3,000-5,000+ words at a time'; the Write tool produces '50-2,000 word' completions. source |
| Outline you can edit first | Yes. Pro and Ultra Max generate a chapter plan you can edit before any prose is written. | Yes. 'To tell Story Bible to create a complete Outline, just click the Generate Outline button', influenced by genre, synopsis, characters and worldbuilding. source |
| Continuity across chapters | Yes. A rolling story bible: your canon plus summaries of the last ten chapters and the previous chapter's closing passage, rebuilt for every chapter. | Story Bible plus Chapter Continuity, which links documents so the AI can 'treat those separate documents as one continuous story'. source |
| Cover art | Yes. Three image models, one to four variants per run at 50,000 credits an image, back covers, free uploads and a free text designer. | Visualize generates images 'based on your text' at 1024×1024 for 2,500 credits each; book covers are not stated. source |
| Audiobook narration | Yes. Six voices, per chapter or whole book, 5 credits per character, WAV download per chapter. | Not stated on their site. |
| Exports | PDF, EPUB and DOCX, rendered server-side, no watermark, no byline. | .docx per document, or the whole project merged into one .docx or bundled as a .zip; Story Bible sections as .csv. EPUB and PDF are not stated. source |
| Printed copies | Yes. 6×9 paperback or hardcover through print-on-demand, shipped in the US and Canada, live quote before you pay. | Not stated on their site. |
| Import an existing manuscript | .docx, .txt, .md and .markdown up to 4 MB; chapter breaks detected automatically. | .txt, .doc, .docx, .rtf and .odt ('optimized for documents up to 120,000 words'), plus Scrivener projects as .zip. source |
| Bring your own API key | No. Generation runs on our models and is included in the credit price. | Not offered on the pages checked. Models are Sudowrite's own selection: 'dozens of AI models, including the latest Claude models by Anthropic, multiple open source models, in-house models made expressly for fiction, like Muse, and several models created by OpenAI'. source |
| Adult content | Adult fiction is allowed. In practice the model handles intimate scenes without explicit detail, so it is not a tool for erotica. Anything sexual involving minors is refused, and a book becomes a public page only after a sexual-content check. | Allowed through their Muse model ('Muse will write anything – no filters'); other models keep their providers' filters. Their Terms prohibit sexual content involving minors. source |
| How you pay | Monthly credit allowance; every generation has a fixed price shown before it runs. Fast book 50,000 credits, Pro book 300,000, Ultra Max 50,000 + 50,000 per chapter. | Monthly credits spent at a rate that depends on the model: their docs say the Professional plan's 1,000,000 credits 'might allow you to generate anywhere from 50,000 to 500,000 AI words in a month'. Unused credits expire except on Max. source |
| Entry price | $29 a month (Lite, 300,000 credits) | Hobby & Student: 225,000 credits for '$10/mo (paid annually) or $19/mo (paid monthly)'. Professional: 1,000,000 credits at $22/$29. Max: 2,000,000 rollover credits at $44/$59. source |
| Free option | Free account writes the opening chapter of your book (about 500 to 700 words). No card required. | Free trial with no credit card; the trial's credit count is not stated. Their docs also offer a refund if you cancel 'within the first 7 days' of subscribing. source |
Where Sudowrite is the better fit
- You want to write the prose yourself with a strong assistant beside you: brainstorming, describe and expand, rewrites, feedback and a canvas for plotting.
- You write in a language other than English; Sudowrite says it 'speaks 30+ languages', while ScribistIQ writes in English.
- You need an unfiltered model for dark or explicit fiction; their Muse model is documented as having 'no filters', which ScribistIQ does not offer.
- You want to pick the underlying model per task and stretch a credit budget with cheaper models.
Where ScribistIQ is the better fit
- You want the whole book written from a premise after you approve the outline, not drafted a chapter at a time from scenes you write.
- You want covers with typography, six-voice audiobook narration, EPUB, PDF and DOCX, and paperback or hardcover printing in the same place.
- You want a fixed, visible price per book rather than a credit cost that changes with the model.
Switching from Sudowrite
Export your Sudowrite project as one merged .docx, then import it into ScribistIQ. Chapter breaks are detected automatically. Story Bible entries are not part of their export, so copy them and paste them into the characters-and-world notes, where they are parsed into the story bible.
.docx, .txt, .md and .markdown up to 4 MB; chapter breaks detected automatically. Once imported, a book can be edited in the Write Studio, extended with Continue Book, given a cover, narrated, exported or printed like any book written here.
Common questions
Is ScribistIQ a Sudowrite alternative?
For a different job. Sudowrite is an assistant for writing prose with AI beside you, a chapter at a time; ScribistIQ generates the complete book from a premise and an outline you approve, then gives you an editor and the publishing tools. If you want to draft every chapter yourself with help, Sudowrite fits better. If you want a finished draft to edit and publish, ScribistIQ does.
Can I move a Sudowrite project to ScribistIQ?
Yes. Sudowrite exports a project as a single merged .docx; ScribistIQ imports .docx, .txt and .md files up to 4 MB and detects chapter breaks. Their export leaves out the Story Bible, so paste those entries into the characters-and-world field to seed ours.
Which is cheaper for a full novel?
ScribistIQ prices per book: a 12-chapter Ultra Max novel is 650,000 credits, and the Standard plan's 1,500,000 credits a month covers two of them with credits left for covers and narration, for $49. Sudowrite's docs say a million credits buys 'anywhere from 50,000 to 500,000 AI words' depending on the model, on plans from $10 a month billed annually. Compare the plan you would actually use and the model you would actually pick.
Do I own what I write with each tool?
ScribistIQ's Terms state that you own the output, and exports carry no byline or watermark. For Sudowrite, read their terms; ownership is not stated on the pages we checked.
Read a chapter of your own book before you pay.
Free account writes the opening chapter of your book (about 500 to 700 words). No card required. Plans start at $29 a month, in US dollars, and every paid plan includes every tool.
Other comparisons: ScribistIQ vs Novelcrafter · ScribistIQ vs NovelAI · ScribistIQ vs Squibler
